Hamilton East Public Library logo

My Account

Hours & Location

Get A Library Card

June 19, 2017

The Chicken Squad: The First Misadventure

The Chicken Squad: The First Misadventure

By: Doreen Cronin

The Chicken Squad is a book about four chick detectives: Sugar, Poppy, Sweetie, and Dirt. The chicks have a mystery to solve.  The squirrel, Tail, has seen something big and scary in the yard.  Tail has a hard time explaining to the chicks what he has seen.  This does not prevent the chicken squad from helping solve the mystery.   The chicks try to get squirrel to add to his description with shapes, color and size. Eventually they have something to go on and fear for their mother’s safety in the yard.  Can these chicks protect their mother?  Of course because, “chickens are unique, beautiful, talented, special, and extraordinarily rare.”

This is the first book in The Chicken Squad series. It written by Doreen Cronin who is very well known for her silly animal stories like Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type and Duck for President.  I would recommend this book for children ages 7 to 10.

Review By: Roberta O’Boyle