Hamilton East Public Library logo

My Account

Hours & Location

Get A Library Card

February 22, 2016



By: Kiera Cass

I like the fact that the first book in this series has the same titles at the series.  There are a total of 5 titles in the Selection series.  The series Happily Ever After is a companion to the Selection series.   The target age for this series is age 13 and up.

The first book is based on a 17 year old girl names America Singer who lives in a futuristic kingdom called Illea.  In this kingdom society is divided into eight castes.  The highest caste contains royalty.   The other eight are made up of poorer societies.  America Singer lives in caste five which is considered the artists.

America Singer along with thirty-five other girls, have been selected to participate in “The Selection” which is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon” and become a princess. Only women are allowed to participate for a chance to marry into a higher caste.

America’s mother is overly excited about this opportunity, but America wants nothing to do with it.  She is very happy where she is mainly because she is in love with another young man from caste six. They have been meeting secretly for a while. After America meets the prince her world is turned upside down.

I feel “The Selection” is a romance that’s a mash-up of the Bachelor, Cinderella, Hunger Games and Miss Congeniality. Thirty-five girls compete to win the hand of a prince. The thirty-five girls express body and self-esteem issues through the book. I enjoyed the first book so much that I had my 16 year old daughter also read it.  She has already asked for the second book in the series.  Great read for young ladies.

Review By: Donna Warfel